City Council Overview

At Your Service

The City of Rockford operates under the Council/Manager form of government, a system that combines the policy leadership of elected officials in the form of a city council, with the managerial expertise of an appointed city manager.

The Council is the legislative body that represents the community and is empowered by the City Charter to formulate citywide policy. The City Council is comprised of five members, elected by the community at-large. The Council in turn elects the Mayor from among its members.

The City Manager, appointed by the Council, is responsible for administration of City affairs, day-to-day operations, and implementation of Council policies.